Allergenic foods in Annex IIIa
As a result of the Labelling Directive you always have to label the allergenic foods listed in Annex IIIa or any product derived from these foods with a few exceptions shown in another section.
Allergenic foods listed in Annex IIIa:
- Cereals containing gluten, (i.e. wheat, rye, barley, oats, spelt, kamut or their hybridized strains) and products thereof
- Crustaceans and products thereof
- Eggs and products thereof
- Fish and products thereof
- Peanuts and products thereof
- Soybeans and products thereof
- Milk and products thereof (including lactose)
- Nuts i.e. almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts, cashews, pecan nuts, Brazil nuts, pistachio nuts, macadamia nuts and Queensland nuts and products thereof
- Celery and products thereof
- Mustard and products thereof
- Sesame seeds and products thereof
- Sulphur dioxide and sulphites at concentrations of more than 10 mg/kg or 10 mg/litre expressed as SO2.
- Lupin and products thereof
- Molluscs and products thereof
Examples of what this means in practice
- Sulphite levels above 10 mg/kg in the ready-to-consume product must always be mentioned on the ingredient label, even if sulphites were not added intentionally into the finished product. Alcoholic beverages are not exempted from this labelling and therefore the sulphite used in their production must be declared as well.
- Ingredients used as processing aids, like egg white in wine production and lactose as a carrier substance for flavours must be listed.
- Similarly, if the source of a vegetable oil or a flavour is a food listed in Annex IIIa it must be specified on the label unless it is permanently exempted from allergen labelling.
EU directives on food labelling:
- The website of the European Commission describes the labelling regulations in Europe in full where the text of the directives is available in several languages.